February wrap-up and updates

I know it isn’t the end of February yet, but since I’ve been MIA for a couple weeks I figured I’d go ahead and post today.

First, where I’ve been: the Flu. UGH. My youngest son got it a couple weeks ago and then I caught it from him. I’ve never had the actual flu before last week but can now say it’s one of the worst things ever. In the last two months my family has been more sick than ever before. We’ve had ear infections, stomach bugs, sinus infections, Strep Throat, and now the flu. I’ve bleached and Lysol’d my whole house multiple times, I’m afraid the next step is just burning the whole house down for a final cleansing. Picture of my little disease carrier just because 🥰


Oh, and it was my birthday last week! It was also the day I was diagnosed with the flu 🙄.


What I’ve been reading and listening to

As you can see, it’s all romance this month. It’s actually what I’ve been reading a lot of lately. The first two are a little more raunchy (and tiresome if I’m being honest), but I recommend the rest.

Chanda Reads Books” is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. This is at no cost to the readers of this blog.

Escaping Destiny by Amelia Hutchins : The third book in the Fae Chronicles series. 3/5 stars

Seducing Destiny by Amelia Hutchins : The fourth book in the Fae Chronicles series. 2/5 stars – honestly, I was sick of this series after the last book, but kept going out of desire to read the next series that is connected to this one. There is one more book before I can start that series, but I have to take a break because I really didn’t enjoy this one like I did the first two.

The Kiss Thief by L.J. Shen : I really loved this one! If you’re looking for a contemporary romance I highly recommend The Kiss Thief. 4.5/5 stars

Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare : I wanted to read a Beauty and the Beast – type book so I chose this one. It was light and fluffy and exactly what I was looking for from a historical romance. 4/5 stars

Firelight by Kristen Callihan : review here 3.5/5 stars

Moonglow by Kristen Callihan : 4/5 stars

Winterblaze by Kristen Callihan : 3.5/5 stars

Shadowdance by Kristen Callihan : I’m not sure what it is about this series, but I can’t get enough. It’s not the best series, but I love the world Callihan has built. 4/5 stars


Currently reading

To Best the Boys by Mary Weber : an ARC from Netgalley, I’m about 20% in and liking it so far. It drew me in from the first chapter so hopefully it maintains this steady pace.

Evernight by Kristen Callihan : The fifth novel in Callihan’s Darkest London series. This one is a little more steampunk than the others and I’m digging it.


Up next

Soulbound by Kristen Callihan : *cringe* I hate that cover. To be honest, if the first had a cover that cringy I wouldn’t have picked it up, but alas, I love the series so I can get past it.

Fire Blood by Elly Blake : I can’t believe I have waited this long for the second book in this series. Frost Blood was my first ARC so while it’s not my favorite series, it holds a special little spot in my heart.

The Unhoneymooners by Christine Lauren : This is probably my most anticipated ARC! I can’t wait to get started on it.


Posts this month

Top Ten Tuesday (18)

Top 5 Wednesday (21)

Top Ten Tuesday (19)

Top 5 Wednesday (22)

Book Review: Firelight (Darkest London #1) by Kristen Callihan


Upcoming Posts

ARC review for To Best the Boys

ARC Review of Extinction Of All Children

Fireblood Review

Wonderstruck Book Tag (tagged by Arini at HER INEFFABLE READS) : because of above mentioned illnesses I haven’t been able to do this one, but I’ve been dying to. That one should be up by the end of the week!

Top 10 Tuesdays

Top 5 Wednesdays


That’s it! Thanks for reading!

One thought on “February wrap-up and updates

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.